School Logo

Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage Framework (EYFS) sets out the learning and development stages for children as they grow from birth to five years.  At Westwood, teachers plan using the EYFS framework focusing on 7 key areas of learning.


Area of Learning and


Prime Areas  

Personal, Social and 

Emotional Development

Making relationships
Self-confidence and self-awareness

Managing feelings and behaviour

Physical Development Moving and handling
Health and self-care
Communication and Language Listening and attention
Specific areas  
Literacy Reading 
Mathematics Numbers
Shape, space and measure
Understanding the World People and communities
The world
Expressive Arts and Design Exploring and using media and materials
Being imaginative


In the documents section below, you can find out how these areas of learning and development are explored during the term. The Medium Term Skills Plan will go into more detail showing opportunities to explore these areas in depth.  These area will be explored within the context of a 'theme'.  Below, you can find 'themes' being used over the term.  As the teachers begin to know the children,  these themes will begin to incorporate specific interests shown by the children.


A fantastic document has been produced by 4Children that helps you as a parent/carer find out more about how your child is learning and developing during their first five years, in relation to the EYFS.  Find a link to the document below. 


For any more information on what is happening in the Foundation Stage, please do not hesitate to drop in and talk to one of the Foundation Stage teachers.